Assessing and substantiating health needs

What is a normative need?

A public health need is established when research repeatedly shows an increase or cluster of certain diseases or health-adverse factors and if corrections are deemed necessary. It reflects the scientific assessment and judgement of a situation from the experts’ point of view, a professionally justified and in most circumstances scientifically established deficiency or shortage in defined population groups (external view). In contrast, a felt need is a subjective deficiency or shortage (expressed or not) as experienced by an individual or by a particular group of people (internal perspective). A need can refer to the international, national, regional or local level.

How is a need established?

International organisations such as the WHO or national institutes regularly collect data using different sources. From these data, once analysed and interpreted, priorities emerge and eventual need for action can then be derived and substantiated. Guidelines and implementation programmes are developed on the basis of such data.

For the justification of a project, data such as the following would be useful to compile:

  • State of the art reports from important organisations
  • National and regional health and social reports
  • Data from monitoring regarding general or specific themes
  • Research results via databases
  • Various statistical data

Need assessment for project justification

In order to justify a project, it is crucial to answer the following two questions:

  • Is there a need? If yes, what is it based upon?
  • Which groups are particularly affected?

If the project is part of a programme a strong enough basis is usually available for justifying the project. In this case, the project description will need to demonstrate how this particular project will contribute to the primary overall objectives of the programme. Accordingly, an individual project that is not part of an overarching programme will normally be required to provide more facts in order to clearly justify an intervention. The actual choice of the target group and the setting will need to be particularly well explained.

Example

The statistics of a company show that it suffers from high absenteeism due to illness and that the number of burn-outs is on the rise. The company’s executives deem these figures to be alarming and define a need for action. It is their opinion that their reputation will suffer if nothing is seen to be done and they fear a decrease in productivity. They therefore mandate an external specialist team with the task of developing health management strategies for the company, with the explicit aim to lower the number of absentee days due to illness and the number of burn-outs.

You think that the project idea is convincing and plausible enough and that you can dispense with doing time-consuming research.

  • You will be able to give substance and legitimation to your project. You will gain insight and knowledge which will help you choose your methodology and implementation method.
  • You will gain acceptance and therefore improve the framework for your project (cf. Societal framework)
  • Use the Assessment Checklist to see if you have considered all of the important points.
  • Consult all the available latest data from national or regional health reports. They provide useful pointers.
  • Have you researched the most important data sources for your needs assessment?
  • Have you consulted experts in the field in order to identify other important data?
  • Have you carefully distinguished between normative and felt or expressed needs and have you clearly explained the difference in your project?
Last modification: 31 August, 2010 22:39

Bedarfsabklärungen und -nachweise

Wann wird von einem Bedarf gesprochen?

Von einem Bedarf wird in Public Health gesprochen, wenn Forschungsergebnisse wiederholt zeigen, dass bestimmte Krankheiten oder gesundheitsbeeinträchtigende Faktoren gehäuft auftreten und Korrekturen als notwendig erachtet werden. Es ist die wissenschaftliche Beurteilung und Bewertung eines Sachverhalts aus der Sicht von Expert/-innen, ein fachlich begründeter, in der Regel wissenschaftlich festgestellter Mangel bei bestimmten Bevölkerungsgruppen (Aussenperspektive). Im Unterschied dazu ist mit Bedürfnis ein von Individuen/Personen subjektiv empfundener Mangel gemeint (Innenperspektive).

Ein Bedarf kann sich auf die internationale, nationale, regionale oder lokale Ebene beziehen.

Wie wird ein Bedarf ermittelt?

Internationale Organisationen wie die WHO oder nationale Institute erheben und sammeln regelmässig Daten aus verschiedenen Quellen. Diese werden aufbereitet und interpretiert, woraus anschliessend Prioritäten gesetzt sowie allfälliger Handlungsbedarf abgeleitet und begründet wird. Auf der Basis solcher Daten werden Leitlinien und Programme für die Umsetzung entwickelt.

Für eine Projektbegründung kann unter anderem auf folgende Daten zurückgegriffen werden:

  • Grundlagenberichte (State-of-the-Art-Berichte) wichtiger Organisationen
  • Nationale oder regionale Gesundheits- und Sozialberichte
  • Monitoringdaten zu allgemeinen und spezifischen Gesundheitsthemen
  • Forschungsergebnisse via Datenbanken
  • Diverse Statistiken

Bedarfsnachweis als Projektbegründung

Für die Projektbegründung ist die Beantwortung der folgenden zwei Fragen zentral:

  • Gibt es einen Bedarf und wenn ja, worauf basiert er?
  • Welche Gruppen sind speziell betroffen?

Wird das Projekt im Rahmen eines Programms durchgeführt, stehen meist genügend Grundlagen für die Begründung des Bedarfs zur Verfügung. Die Aufgabe für das Projekt besteht dann in der Beschreibung seines spezifischen Beitrages zu den übergeordneten Programmzielen.

Ist ein Projekt nicht in einem Programm eingebettet, dann sind in der Regel entsprechend mehr Fakten zusammenzutragen, um die Interventionen klar begründen zu können. Für die Zielgruppe oder das Setting ist zu begründen, warum gerade diese Gruppe angesprochen werden soll.

Beispiel

Die Statistik eines Unternehmens weist eine hohe Ziffer von Krankheitsabwesenheiten und eine zunehmende Anzahl von Burn outs auf. Die Unternehmensleitung bewertet diese Zahlen als gravierend und definiert einen Handlungsbedarf. Wird ihrer Meinung nach nichts unternommen, sehen sie die Gefahr einer Schädigung ihres Rufs und eine Einbuße der Produktivität. Die Leitung entscheidet sich deshalb für ein externes Beraterteam, das ein Gesundheitsmanagement im Betrieb entwickeln soll mit dem Ziel, die Krankheitsabwesenheiten und die Zahl der Burn outs zu senken.

Sie finden Ihre Idee des Projektes überzeugend und plausibel genug und wollen sich die Arbeit für eine aufwändige Recherche sparen.

  • Sie können das Projekt begründen und legitimieren. Die gewonnen Kenntnisse hilft Ihnen zudem bei der Entwicklung der Vorgehensweise und der Methodenwahl bei der Umsetzung.
  • Sie erhöhen die Akzeptanz und verbessern damit die Rahmenbedingungen für Ihr Projekt (vgl. Gesellschaftlicher Rahmen).
  • Prüfen Sie anhand der 'Checkliste Assessment', ob Sie die für einen Bedarfsnachweis wichtigen Punkte berücksichtigt haben.
  • Konsultieren Sie die neusten Daten der nationalen oder regionalen Gesundheitsberichte. Sie liefern wichtige Hinweise.
  • Ist in den wichtigsten Datenquellen für einen Bedarfsnachweis recherchiert worden?
  • Sind auch Fachpersonen, die den Sachverhalt gut kennen, kontaktiert worden um Hinweise auf wichtige Datenquellen zu liefern?
  • Ist der Bedarf gut vom Bedürfnis getrennt und der Unterschied im Projekt transparent dargestellt?
Letzte Änderung: Dienstag, 31. August 2010, 22:39 Uhr