Social determinants of health

Origin and terminology

It is now generally acknowledged that health is strongly influenced by living conditions as well as by lifestyle and behavior. These influences are called "determinants of health", in contrast to biological and genetic factors. Determinants of health cannot be considered in isolation from each other. They work in manifold, interacting processes. An individual's behavior such as smoking is influenced by his lifestyle - which in turn is influenced by living conditions.

Interest in the determinants of health has increased in recent years.This is shown by the fact that countries have begun to base their health reporting on determinants of health instead of health risks.The work of the Commission Social Determinants of Health (CSDH), created in 2005 by the WHO and led by Michael Marmot has provoked global interest. The mission of this group was to find evidence for ways of reducing health inequality and to show how progress in this regard could be achieved worldwide. The group's final report with the title "Closing the gap in a generation. Health Equity through action on the social determinants of health " was published in 2008.

The reason for the increasing focus on the Social Determinants of Health is the fact that they are seen as an adequate response to the changing living and working conditions at the beginning of the 21st century, which have in turn led to an increase of chronic and mental illnesses related to globalization and individualization.

Social determinants of health

Important determinants include income and social status, social support, social networks, education, social life, environment, gender and cultural environment. Still largely missing are explanations on how various factors interact and which chains of effects are crucial under which contextual conditions.

Consequences and challenges

In practice the focus on determinants of health means that rethinking is increasingly required. The current emphasis on individual behaviour must be directed towards structural prevention, taking account of health inequalities. The inclusion of the socio-cultural context in interventions is given a more central role.This requires that fundamental elements such as health reports are consistently based on the determinants of health. This not only provides the necessary foundation for implementation but through evaluations conclusions may be drawn as to the effectiveness of the interventions. The complex connections between life conditions and behaviour pose a particular challenge for research. Finally, policy decisions are required for the development of the social framework. Not only the health sector, but all sectors are involved when it comes to influencing the social determinants of health in a positive way. Procedures for a multi-sectoral collaboration are to be developped and it is important to implement consistently a 'Health in All' policy.

Bibliographical references

  • Commission on Social Determinants of Health, CSDH, (2008). Closing the gap in a generation: health equity through action on the social determinants of health. Final Report of the commission on Social Determinants of Health. Geneva: World Health Organization.
  • Raphael, D. (2008). "Getting serious about the social determinants of health: new directions for public health workers." Promotion and Education, 15(3): 15-20.
  • Wilkinson, R.; Marmot, M. (2004). Soziale Determinanten von Gesundheit. Die Fakten. Zweite Ausgabe. Geneva: WHO [Link/Download]
  • You consider that interventions aimed at influencing social determinants are too complex.
  • You focus on influencing health-damaging behaviour.
  • By focusing on social determinants of health you get a more comprehensive understanding for the origin of health.
  • You design projects that pay attention to the reality of people's life and thus increase the chance that people feel addressed.
  • You contribute to the reduction of health inequalities.
  • When developing your concept, think carefully about the most appropriate methodological approaches in order to reach people in their social contexts.
  • Make sure that your project reaches people who are particularly affected by health inequalities.
  • Always consider the concepts of behavioral and structural prevention as a pair and pay attention to their interaction in any project.
  • Which determinants of health appear particularly significant in relation to health issues? Which factors will affect the health of your target group?
  • What other sectors besides the health sector could be relevant for solutions in your context(education, social affairs, transport, ...)?
  • Which methodological approaches do you choose in order to address the complex understanding of health?
Last modification: 23 February, 2011 13:40

Gesundheitsdeterminanten

Herkunft und Begrifflichkeit

Heute ist allgemein anerkannt, dass die Gesundheit der Menschen stark durch ihre Lebensbedingungen sowie durch die Lebens- und Verhaltensweisen beeinflusst wird. Diese Einflüsse werden, im Gegensatz zu den biologisch-genetischen Faktoren, mit dem Begriff „Determinanten der Gesundheit“ benannt. Determinanten der Gesundheit können nicht isoliert voneinander betrachtet werden. Sie wirken in vielfältigen, sich gegenseitig beeinflussenden Prozessen. Eine individuelle Verhaltensweise wie beispielsweise Rauchen ist beeinflusst vom Lebensstil- der wiederum geprägt ist von den Lebensbedingungen einer Person.

Das Interesse an den Determinanten der Gesundheit hat in den letzen Jahren zugenommen. Das zeigt sich daran, dass Länder angefangen haben, ihre Gesundheitsberichterstattung auf Determinanten der Gesundheit statt an Gesundheitsrisiken zu orientieren. Für weltweites Interesse hat auch die 2005 von der WHO gegründete Kommission (CSDH) für Soziale Determinanten der Gesundheit unter der Leitung von Michael Marmot gesorgt. Auftrag dieser Gruppe war, Evidenzen zu finden, wie gesundheitliche Ungleichheit verringert werden kann und was zu tun ist, damit weltweit diesbezüglich Fortschritte erreicht werden können. Der Schlussbericht wurde 2008 von der Gruppe unter dem Titel „Closing the gap in a generation. Health equity through action on the social determinants of health“ publiziert.

Begründet wird das zunehmende Interesse an den Sozialen Determinanten der Gesundheit damit, dass sie als adäquate Antwort auf die sich zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts verändernden Lebens- und Arbeitsbedingungen gesehen werden, die durch Globalisierung und Individualisierung zu einer Zunahme von chronischen und psychischen Krankheiten geführt haben.

Soziale Determinanten der Gesundheit

Als wichtige Determinanten werden unter anderem Einkommen und sozialer Status, soziale Unterstützung , soziale Netzwerke, Bildung, soziale Lebensumwelt, Gender und kulturelles Umfeld gesehen.

Weitgehend fehlen noch Erklärungen, wie sich die verschiedenen Faktoren gegenseitig beeinflussen und welche Wirkungspfade unter welchen kontextuellen Bedingungen entscheidend sind.

Konsequenzen und Herausforderungen

Für die Praxis bedeutet die Fokussierung auf Determinanten der Gesundheit ein verstärktes Umdenken. Die bisherige Betonung auf individuelle Verhaltensweisen muss stärker in Richtung Verhältnisprävention unter Berücksichtigung der gesundheitlichen Ungleichheit gelenkt werden. Der Einbezug des soziokulturellen Kontextes bei Interventionen erhält eine zentralere Bedeutung. Dafür braucht es Grundlagen, eine Gesundheitsberichterstattung, die konsequent auf den Gesundheitsdeterminanten aufgebaut ist. Diese liefert nicht nur die notwendigen Grundlagen für die Umsetzung, sondern ermöglicht durch Evaluationen auch Rückschlüsse, ob Interventionen Veränderungen bewirkt haben. Die Forschung ist insbesondere für die Erklärungen der komplexen Zusammenhänge zwischen Lebenslage und Verhaltensweisen herausgefordert. Schlussendlich ist die Politik für die Entwicklung von gesellschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen gefragt. Nicht nur das Gesundheitswesen, sondern alle Sektoren sind an der positiven Beeinflussung der Sozialen Determinanten der Gesundheit beteiligt. Dazu sind Verfahren für eine multisektorale Zusammenarbeit zu entwickeln und die konsequente Umsetzung einer Health in All Policy wichtig.

Literaturhinweise

  • Commission on Social Determinants of Health, CSDH, (2008). Closing the gap in a generation: health equity through action on the social determinants of health. Final Report of the commission on Social Determinants of Health. Geneva: World Health Organization.
  • Meyer, K. (Hrsg.). (2008). Gesundheit in der Schweiz. Nationaler Gesundheitsbericht. Bern: Huber.
  • Raphael, D. (2008). "Getting serious about the social determinants of health: new directions for public health workers." Promotion and Education, 15(3): 15-20.
  • Wilkinson, R.; Marmot, M. (2004). Soziale Determinanten von Gesundheit. Die Fakten. Zweite Ausgabe. Geneva: WHO [Link/Download]
  • Sie erachten Interventionen, die die Sozialen Determinanten der Gesundheit beeinflussen wollen, als zu komplex.
  • Sie konzentrieren sich auf die Beeinflussung von gesundheitsschädigenden Verhaltensweisen.
  • Mit der Fokussierung auf soziale Determinanten der Gesundheit erhalten Sie ein umfassenderes Verständnis für die Entstehung von Gesundheit.
  • Sie konzipieren Projekte, die die Lebensrealität der Menschen stärker berücksichtigt und erhöhen dadurch die Chance, dass sich die Menschen angesprochen fühlen.
  • Sie tragen dazu bei, gesundheitliche Ungleichheit abzubauen.
  • Überlegen Sie sich bei der Konzeptentwicklung, welche methodischen Ansätze am geeignetsten sind, Menschen in ihren sozialen Kontexten anzusprechen.
  • Achten Sie darauf, dass Sie in Ihrem Projekt Menschen erreichen, die von der gesundheitlichen Ungleichheit besonders betroffen sind.
  • Erachten Sie die Begriffe Verhalten und Verhältnisse als Begriffspaar und berücksichtigen Sie in Projekten immer deren Zusammenspiel.
  • Welche Gesundheitsdeterminanten erscheinen in Bezug auf Ihre Gesundheitsthematik besonders bedeutungsvoll? Durch welche Faktoren wird die Gesundheit Ihrer Zielgruppe beeinflusst?
  • Welche anderen Sektoren neben dem Gesundheitssektor könnten für Lösungsansätze in Ihrem Kontext von Bedeutung sein (Bildung, Soziales, Verkehr,…)?
  • Welche methodischen Ansätze wählen Sie, um dem komplexen Verständnis von Gesundheit gerecht zu werden?
Letzte Änderung: Mittwoch, 23. Februar 2011, 13:40 Uhr