Project management with milestones

Interventions are usually accepted or rejected on the basis of a submitted project design. The design describes the goals of the intervention, lists planned actions and defines the timeframe, which is subdivided into milestones. While approval of an intervention is pending, more detailed planning for the implementation makes little sense at this point, especially for longer programs or projects. Detailed planning will be the task of the program/project managers during the implementation phase when they can also take into account any new developments in the settings for which the intervention has been planned. Milestones divide the intervention into several regular stages. They are the central structural elements for management of a project.

Milestones

Milestones are breakpoints during the implementation phase. They are set at periodic intervals. They provide opportunities to view retrospectively the progress made and to plan the details of the next stage. It is advisable to have milestones at regular intervals of 3-9 months. This will divide the implementation phase into periods of similar length.

Milestone

In “classic” project management, milestones are defined as points in time by which agreed services must be delivered. They are prerequisite for the next steps. Milestones are usually defined by content and are either “„achieved” or “not achieved”. However, in the field of health promotion and prevention, the interdependency of actions on all levels normally is not very strong. Therefore, the focus of milestones is primarily on regular discussion and reflection on the activities on all levels. This is why the quality system quint-essenz for milestones emphasizes regularity. Content arises naturally when the intermediary targets that are set for each action are checked and discussed at the relevant milestone meeting.

Managing interventions

In health promotion and prevention, management is not primarily focused on the stakeholders’ deliverables, but on the effects that are generated in the targeted system.

Periodical milestones, with clearly defined intermediate objectives for each ongoing activity, serve as retrospective critical reflections on the preceding phase and as prospective planning opportunities for the next phase (see Fig. 1).

Implementation starts when the first concrete activities are undertaken. Important dates such as beginning and end and the person who is in charge must be clearly defined for each activity in this first phase, unless they already have been stated in the design. Then, an intermediate objective, which must be attained by the next milestone, is set for each undertaking.

Intermediate objectives

Target values are set for each intermediate objective. Project progress is monitored in relation to these targets. Intermediate objectives are formulated according to the same criteria as project objectives – they must be verifiable and, if possible, effect-oriented. If it is not immediately apparent that an interim objective has been reached, some evaluation measures may be needed before embarking on the next phase.

The interim objectives that have been set for the activities in the first implementation phase will form the basis of the discussion at the first milestone meeting. Which objectives have been reached? Which actions were successful and which were not? Has anything happened that has consequences for the next stage and/or are any corrective measures needed?

Milestone meetings

In milestone meetings, the achievement of intermediate objectives is checked and the budget and project progress are reviewed. The meetings are ideal for discussing unforeseen events and developments, opportunities and risks and possible consequences of the next phase. There is an opportunity to not only address professional questions and technical matters, but also to discuss teamwork, communication within the team, possible conflicts and rivalries and other personal issues.

Finally, the team’s achievements should be acknowledged and shared success celebrated.

Development cycles

Setting interim objectives and monitoring progress - by checking the attainment of these objectives - are recurring tasks. Therefore, managing interventions becomes a cyclic process in which each phase consists of four tasks:

Implementation

In this cycle, planning is where concrete actions are specified and intermediate objectives are set. The implementation of these actions is followed by evaluation. Sometimes, when it is obvious that intermediate objectives have been reached, there is no need for evaluation at this point. Reflection means discussing the efficacy and efficiency of the implemented actions. The results of the reflection process are considered in the detailed planning of the next phase and so a new cycle begins.

Bibliographical references

  • Kolip, P.; Ackermann, G.; Ruckstuhl, B.; Studer, H. (2012). Gesundheitsförderung mit System. Qualitätsentwicklung mit quint-essenz. Bern: Huber.
  • You assume that your project will progress as planned and thus underestimate the need for periodic reflection made necessary by continual change.
  • You associate milestone targets primarily with the contractual conditions and feel that they serve only the client’s purpose of control.
  • You find it difficult to formulate intermediate objectives according to the SMART criteria.

Structuring your program or project with milestones established at regular intervals will permit you to react promptly to unexpected changes and to make appropriate corrections. If you reflect on the progress of the program or project at these defined occasions, you can dedicate later all of the time between milestones to actual implementation work.

Carefully planning and implementing the first stage provides the greatest likelihood of success.

Milestone meetings enable you to keep your planning flexible and to direct your project in an active and ongoing way. This dynamic process encourages creativity and innovation. Regular discussions about teamwork help to discover potential sources of conflict in the project team at an early stage and to find constructive solutions.

Establish milestones at regular intervals and specify verifiable intermediate objectives for each action that is relevant for every milestone.

At milestone meetings, be sure to do the following:

  • Discuss and reflect on the previous stage of the project.
  • Plan the details of the next stage (specify intermediate objectives).
  • Discuss developments in the program or project and any changing circumstances in the program or project environment.
  • Discuss the atmosphere at work and within the team.
  • Call in outside experts, if needed.
  • Prepare a short milestone report.
  • Has the project been divided into several phases (with defined milestones and meetings to monitor achievements)?
  • Are intermediate objectives effect-oriented and verifiable?
  • Are milestone meetings carefully prepared and conducted at regular intervals?
  • Are milestone meetings utilized as a tool for project management?
  • Is enough time given during milestone meetings to a discussion of the dynamics of the project team?
Last modification: 21 December, 2011 17:17

Projektsteuerung mit Meilensteinen

Das Konzept ist in der Regel die Grundlage für den Entscheid für oder gegen die Unterstützung und Durchführung einer Intervention. Darin werden die Ziele der Intervention definiert, Massnahmen aufgelistet sowie Meilensteine gesetzt. Bevor ein Entscheid zugunsten der geplanten Intervention gefällt worden ist, macht es zumindest bei länger dauernden Interventionen noch keinen Sinn, die nachfolgende Phase der Implementierung detailliert zu planen. Detailplanung ist eine Aufgabe der Programm- oder Projektsteuerung in der Phase der Implementierung, unter Berücksichtigung der dynamischen Entwicklungen in den Settings, in denen man intervenieren will. Das zentrale Strukturelement der Steuerung ist eine zeitlich regelmässige Abfolge von Meilensteinen.

Meilensteine

Meilensteine sind Haltepunkte in der Implementierungsphase, welche diese in Etappen gliedert und an denen rückblickend der bisherige Verlauf des Projekts überprüft wird und vorausblickend die Feinplanung der folgenden Etappe vorgenommen wird. Es empfiehlt sich daher, die Meilensteine regelmässig auf die Implementierungsphase des Projekts zu verteilen (im Abstand von 3-9 Monaten). Auf diese Weise entstehen in der Implementierungsphase Etappen von gleicher Länge.

Meilenstein

Im „klassischen“ Projektmanagement werden Meilensteine als Zeitpunkte definiert, an denen besondere Leistungen erbracht sein müssen, die Voraussetzung sind für nachfolgende Massnahmen. Sie sind primär inhaltlich definiert und können „erreicht“ oder „nicht erreicht“ werden. Bei Interventionen in der Gesundheitsförderung und Prävention ist die wechselseitige Abhängigkeit von Massnahmen auf unterschiedlichen Handlungsebenen in der Regel eher gering und die regelmässige Reflexion aller Aktivitäten auf allen Ebenen steht hier im Vordergrund. Aus diesem Grund sind Meilensteine im Qualitätssystem quint-essenz primär zeitlich definiert. Die Inhalte ergeben sich sekundär durch das Setzen von Zwischenzielen für die verschiedenen Massnahmen, die für den jeweiligen Meilenstein relevant sind.

Steuerung von Interventionen

Die Steuerung von Interventionen in der Gesundheitsförderung und Prävention ist nicht in erster Linie auf das Management von Leistungen der beteiligten Akteure, sondern auf die erzeugten Wirkungen im Zielsystem ausgerichtet.

Regelmässig verteilte Meilensteine mit Zwischenzielen für jede laufende Massnahme dienen retrospektiv der kritischen Reflexion der vorhergehenden Etappe und prospektiv der Detailplanung der nachfolgenden Etappe (vgl. Abb. 1).

Zu Beginn der Implementierungsphase wird die erste Etappe der Durchführung konkretisiert. Für jede Massnahme der ersten Etappe werden, falls dies nicht schon in der Konzeptionsphase geschehen ist, Anfang und Ende, wichtige Termine sowie eine verantwortliche Person festgelegt. Anschliessend wird für jede dieser Massnahmen ein Zwischenziel für den ersten Meilenstein festgelegt.

Zwischenziele

Zwischenziele definieren die Soll-Werte für den Projektfortschritt. Für die Formulierung von Zwischenzielen gelten die gleichen Kriterien wie für Projektziele - sie sollten überprüfbar und - falls möglich - wirkungsorientiert sein. Wenn das Erreichen eines Zwischenziels nicht unmittelbar erkennbar ist, sind vor dem Ablauf der jeweiligen Etappe evaluative Massnahmen erforderlich.

Die Zwischenziele für die einzelnen Massnahmen bilden nach Ablauf der ersten Etappe, an der ersten Meilensteinsitzung, die Grundlage für eine kritische Reflexion. Welche Zwischenziele konnten erreicht werden? Welche Massnahmen waren erfolgreich, welche nicht? Hat der bisherige Verlauf Konsequenzen für die künftigen Schritte oder müssen Korrekturen vorgenommen werden?

Meilensteinsitzungen

An Meilensteinsitzungen wird das Erreichen der Zwischenziele und die Einhaltung des Budgets überprüft, der Fortschritt des Projekts sowie unvorhergesehene Ereignisse und Entwicklungen reflektiert und Chancen und Risiken und mögliche Konsequenzen für die nachfolgende Etappe diskutiert. Die Sitzungen dienen einerseits der Diskussion fachlicher Fragen, andererseits bieten sie Raum für die Reflexion der Arbeit im Team sowie der Kommunikation innerhalb der Programm- oder Projektorganisation und für die Bearbeitung von Konflikten und anderen persönlichen Themen.

Schliesslich sollten die Leistungen der Akteure gebührend gewürdigt und Erfolge gemeinsam gefeiert werden.

Entwicklungszyklen

Durch die wiederkehrende Aufgabe der Festlegung von Zwischenzielen für die einzelnen Massnahmen und Überprüfung der Zwischenzielerreichung wird die Steuerung von Interventionen zu einem zyklisch fortschreitenden Prozess, welcher für jede der Etappen vier Aufgaben umfasst:

Implementierung

Die Planung bezieht sich auf die Konkretisierung von Massnahmen und Festlegung von Zwischenzielen. Auf die Umsetzung von Massnahmen folgt deren Evaluation. Zuweilen ist die Zwischenzielerreichung allerdings augenfällig, so dass es keiner besonderen evaluativen Massnahmen bedarf. Die Reflexion in diesem Entwicklungszyklus bezieht sich auf die Effektivität und Effizienz der umgesetzten Massnahmen. Die Ergebnisse werden für die Detailplanung der nächsten Etappe verwendet und somit beginnt ein neuer Zyklus.

Literaturhinweise

  • Kolip, P.; Ackermann, G.; Ruckstuhl, B.; Studer, H. (2012). Gesundheitsförderung mit System. Qualitätsentwicklung mit quint-essenz. Bern: Huber.
  • Sie gehen davon aus, dass sich eine Intervention wie geplant durchführen lässt und unterschätzen die dynamischen Entwicklungen, die eine regelmässige Reflexion erforderlich machen.
  • Sie verbinden Meilensteine eng mit den Vertragsbedingungen und haben das Gefühl, dass sie lediglich dem Controlling des Auftraggebers dienen.
  • Es fällt Ihnen schwer, für die Meilensteine smarte Zwischenziele zu formulieren.

Wenn Sie Ihr Programm oder Projekt zeitlich gliedern und Meilensteine als regelmässige Haltepunkte setzen und für die Steuerung nutzen, können Sie auf eine 'veränderte Situation' angemessen reagieren und Fehlentwicklungen rechtzeitig korrigieren. Wenn Sie den Fortschritt des Programms oder Projekts an den Meilensteinsitzungen reklektieren, können Sie in den Zeiträumen zwischen den Meilensteinen konzentriert an der Umsetzung Ihrer Massnahmen arbeiten.

Mit einer sorgfältigen Planung und Umsetzung der ersten Etappe hat Ihre Intervention bessere Chancen auf Erfolg.

Sie können durch Meilensteinsitzungen Ihre Planung flexibel halten und die laufenden Prozesse aktiv und regelmässig steuern. Dadurch werden auch Kreativität und Innovation gefördert. Ein regelmässige Reflexion der Zusammenarbeit kann helfen, Konfliktpotentiale im Team frühzeitig zu erkennen und konstruktive Lösungen zu finden.

Setzen Sie für die Implementierungsphase Meilensteine in regelmässigen Abständen. Formulieren Sie für jeden Meilenstein und jede zu diesem Zeitpunkt relevante Massnahme überprüfbare Zwischenziele.

Berücksichtigen Sie bei Meilensteinsitzungen folgende Aspekte:

  • Reflektieren Sie die vergangene Etappe.
  • Planen Sie detailliert die nächste Etappe (Zwischenziele).
  • Diskutieren Sie Prozesse innerhalb und veränderte Bedingungen ausserhalb Ihres Programms oder Projekts.
  • Sprechen Sie das Arbeits- und Teamklima an.
  • Beziehen Sie bei Bedarf weitere Fachleute ein. Verfassen Sie einen kurzen Meilensteinbericht.
  • Ist das Projekt etappiert (sind Meilensteine gesetzt und entsprechende Sitzungen zu deren Überprüfung vereinbart)?
  • Sind die Zwischenziele wirkungsorientiert und überprüfbar?
  • Werden die Meilensteinsitzungen sorgfältig geplant und regelmässig durchgeführt?
  • Werden Meilensteinsitzungen als Instrument zur Projektsteuerung genutzt?
  • Wird der Reflexion von Teamprozessen an den Meilensteinsitzungen genügend Raum gegeben?
Letzte Änderung: Mittwoch, 21. Dezember 2011, 17:17 Uhr