Project management with milestones

Interventions are usually accepted or rejected on the basis of a submitted project design. The design describes the goals of the intervention, lists planned actions and defines the timeframe, which is subdivided into milestones. While approval of an intervention is pending, more detailed planning for the implementation makes little sense at this point, especially for longer programs or projects. Detailed planning will be the task of the program/project managers during the implementation phase when they can also take into account any new developments in the settings for which the intervention has been planned. Milestones divide the intervention into several regular stages. They are the central structural elements for management of a project.

Milestones

Milestones are breakpoints during the implementation phase. They are set at periodic intervals. They provide opportunities to view retrospectively the progress made and to plan the details of the next stage. It is advisable to have milestones at regular intervals of 3-9 months. This will divide the implementation phase into periods of similar length.

Milestone

In “classic” project management, milestones are defined as points in time by which agreed services must be delivered. They are prerequisite for the next steps. Milestones are usually defined by content and are either “„achieved” or “not achieved”. However, in the field of health promotion and prevention, the interdependency of actions on all levels normally is not very strong. Therefore, the focus of milestones is primarily on regular discussion and reflection on the activities on all levels. This is why the quality system quint-essenz for milestones emphasizes regularity. Content arises naturally when the intermediary targets that are set for each action are checked and discussed at the relevant milestone meeting.

Managing interventions

In health promotion and prevention, management is not primarily focused on the stakeholders’ deliverables, but on the effects that are generated in the targeted system.

Periodical milestones, with clearly defined intermediate objectives for each ongoing activity, serve as retrospective critical reflections on the preceding phase and as prospective planning opportunities for the next phase (see Fig. 1).

Implementation starts when the first concrete activities are undertaken. Important dates such as beginning and end and the person who is in charge must be clearly defined for each activity in this first phase, unless they already have been stated in the design. Then, an intermediate objective, which must be attained by the next milestone, is set for each undertaking.

Intermediate objectives

Target values are set for each intermediate objective. Project progress is monitored in relation to these targets. Intermediate objectives are formulated according to the same criteria as project objectives – they must be verifiable and, if possible, effect-oriented. If it is not immediately apparent that an interim objective has been reached, some evaluation measures may be needed before embarking on the next phase.

The interim objectives that have been set for the activities in the first implementation phase will form the basis of the discussion at the first milestone meeting. Which objectives have been reached? Which actions were successful and which were not? Has anything happened that has consequences for the next stage and/or are any corrective measures needed?

Milestone meetings

In milestone meetings, the achievement of intermediate objectives is checked and the budget and project progress are reviewed. The meetings are ideal for discussing unforeseen events and developments, opportunities and risks and possible consequences of the next phase. There is an opportunity to not only address professional questions and technical matters, but also to discuss teamwork, communication within the team, possible conflicts and rivalries and other personal issues.

Finally, the team’s achievements should be acknowledged and shared success celebrated.

Development cycles

Setting interim objectives and monitoring progress - by checking the attainment of these objectives - are recurring tasks. Therefore, managing interventions becomes a cyclic process in which each phase consists of four tasks:

Implementation

In this cycle, planning is where concrete actions are specified and intermediate objectives are set. The implementation of these actions is followed by evaluation. Sometimes, when it is obvious that intermediate objectives have been reached, there is no need for evaluation at this point. Reflection means discussing the efficacy and efficiency of the implemented actions. The results of the reflection process are considered in the detailed planning of the next phase and so a new cycle begins.

Bibliographical references

  • Kolip, P.; Ackermann, G.; Ruckstuhl, B.; Studer, H. (2012). Gesundheitsförderung mit System. Qualitätsentwicklung mit quint-essenz. Bern: Huber.
  • You assume that your project will progress as planned and thus underestimate the need for periodic reflection made necessary by continual change.
  • You associate milestone targets primarily with the contractual conditions and feel that they serve only the client’s purpose of control.
  • You find it difficult to formulate intermediate objectives according to the SMART criteria.

Structuring your program or project with milestones established at regular intervals will permit you to react promptly to unexpected changes and to make appropriate corrections. If you reflect on the progress of the program or project at these defined occasions, you can dedicate later all of the time between milestones to actual implementation work.

Carefully planning and implementing the first stage provides the greatest likelihood of success.

Milestone meetings enable you to keep your planning flexible and to direct your project in an active and ongoing way. This dynamic process encourages creativity and innovation. Regular discussions about teamwork help to discover potential sources of conflict in the project team at an early stage and to find constructive solutions.

Establish milestones at regular intervals and specify verifiable intermediate objectives for each action that is relevant for every milestone.

At milestone meetings, be sure to do the following:

  • Discuss and reflect on the previous stage of the project.
  • Plan the details of the next stage (specify intermediate objectives).
  • Discuss developments in the program or project and any changing circumstances in the program or project environment.
  • Discuss the atmosphere at work and within the team.
  • Call in outside experts, if needed.
  • Prepare a short milestone report.
  • Has the project been divided into several phases (with defined milestones and meetings to monitor achievements)?
  • Are intermediate objectives effect-oriented and verifiable?
  • Are milestone meetings carefully prepared and conducted at regular intervals?
  • Are milestone meetings utilized as a tool for project management?
  • Is enough time given during milestone meetings to a discussion of the dynamics of the project team?
Last modification: 21 December, 2011 17:17

Pilotage du projet à l’aide de séances de pointages

En règle générale, c’est un concept qui est à la base d’une décision en faveur ou contre la réalisation d’une intervention ou du soutien à lui apporter. C’est dans le concept que sont définis les objectifs de l’intervention, qu’est dressée la liste des mesures à prendre et que sont fixées les étapes du projet. Avant qu’une décision en faveur de l’intervention ait été prise, cela n’a guère de sens de planifier en détail la phase suivante de son implémentation, du moins pour des interventions qui se déroulent sur un long terme. La planification détaillée est une tâche qui relève du pilotage du programme et du projet dans la phase d’implé-mentation et qui doit tenir compte des développements dynamiques dans le setting où l’on veut intervenir. L’élément structurel central du pilotage se fonde sur une suite ponctuelle et régulière de pointages sur l’évolution du projet.

Pointages

Les pointages sont des « temps d’arrêt » pendant la phase d’implémentation d’un projet. Ils sont destinés à la structurer en étapes, servent à examiner le déroulement du projet et à procéder à la planification détaillée de la prochaine étape. Pendant la phase d’implé-mentation, il est recommandé de prévoir régulièrement des séances de pointage (à intervalle de 3 à 9 mois), ce qui permet aussi de définir des étapes de longueur identiques pendant toute la durée de l’implémentation.

Pointage

Dans le cadre de la gestion « classique » de projets, les pointages sont définis comme des « temps d’arrêt », moments où certaines prestations essentielles doivent avoir été fournies afin d’avoir créé les conditions pour les mesures suivantes. Elles sont en priorité définies sur le plan du contenu et peuvent être « atteintes » ou « non atteintes ». Lors d’interventions dans le domaine de la promotion de la santé et de la prévention, l’interdépendance entre les mesures à divers niveaux d’action est en règle plutôt faible et c’est la réflexion régulière sur les activités à tous les échelons qui occupe la première place. C’est la raison pour laquelle, dans le système de qualité quint-essenz, les pointages sont prioritairement définis à l’échelon temporel. Les contenus résultent de façon secondaire de la définition des objectifs inter-médiaires pour les diverses mesures qui sont déterminantes pour le pointage correspondant.

Pilotage des interventions

Le pilotage des interventions dans le domaine de la promotion de la santé et de la prévention n’est pas en premier lieu centré sur la gestion des prestations, mais sur les effets par rapport aux objectifs.

Des séances de pointages à intervalles réguliers, avec des objectifs intermédiaires pour chaque mesure en cours, permettent une réflexion rétrospective et critique sur l’étape qui vient de s’achever et prospective pour la planification détaillée de l’étape suivante (voir illustration 1).

C’est au début de la phase d’implémentation que la première étape de l’intervention est concrétisée. Pour chaque mesure de cette première étape - si cela n’a pas encore été fait lors de la phase de conception – sont définis son début et sa fin, les délais importants ainsi qu’une personne responsable. Ensuite est fixé pour chaque mesure un objectif intermédiaire à atteindre pour la première séance de pointage.

Objectifs intermédiaires

Les objectifs intermédiaires définissent les valeurs de référence pour l’avancée du projet. La formulation des objectifs intermédiaires se fonde sur les mêmes critères que la formulation des objectifs du projet : ils doivent être vérifiables et – si possible – axés sur les effets. Lorsque l’atteinte d’un objectif intermédiaire n’est pas immédiatement vérifiable, des mesures d’évaluation sont nécessaires avant la fin de l’étape concernée.

A la fin de la première étape, les objectifs intermédiaires des diverses mesures servent de base pour une réflexion critique lors de la première séance de pointage. Quels sont les objectifs intermédiaires qui ont été atteints ? Quelles mesures ont été efficaces ? Lesquelles non ? Le déroulement de la première étape a-t-il des conséquences pour le déroulement futur du projet ou faut-il en corriger ou en adapter certains points ?

Séances de pointage

Les séances de pointage sont destinées à examiner l’atteinte des objectifs intermédiaires, le respect du budget et l’avancée du projet, à refléter les progrès réalisés ainsi que des événe-ments et des développements non planifiés, à discuter les chances et les risques et les conséquences possibles pour la prochaine étape. Ces séances servent d’une part à discuter des aspects techniques et, d’autre part, elles offrent un espace de réflexion sur le travail de l’équipe, sur la communication au sein de l’organisation du programme ou du projet et pour aborder des conflits et d’autres thèmes personnels.

Les prestations des divers acteurs devraient également être dûment honorées lors de ces séances et les progrès fêtés ensemble.

Cycles de développement

La tâche récurrente de la définition d’objectifs intermédiaires pour chaque mesure et l’examen de l’atteinte de ces objectifs constitue pour le pilotage des interventions un processus cyclique progressif qui, pour chaque étape, comporte trois tâches :

Implémentation

La Planification se réfère à la concrétisation de mesures et à la définition d’objectifs intermédiaires. La Réalisation des mesures est suivie de leur Evaluation. Le cas échéant, l’atteinte d’un objectif intermédiaire est suffisamment évidente pour qu’aucune mesure d’évaluation particulière soit nécessaire. La Réflexion dans ce cycle de développement concerne l’effectivité et l’efficacité des mesures réalisées. Les résultats en sont utilisés pour la planification détaillée de la prochaine étape et représente le début d’un nouveau cycle.

Références de littérature

  • Kolip, P.; Ackermann, G.; Ruckstuhl, B.; Studer, H. (2012). Gesundheitsförderung mit System. Qualitätsentwicklung mit quint-essenz. Bern: Huber.
  • Vous partez du principe qu’une intervention se déroulera comme prévu et vous sous-estimez les développements dynamiques qui requièrent une réflexion régulière.
  • Vous associez étroitement les séances de pointage aux conditions contractuelles et vous avez le sentiment qu’ils ne servent qu’au controlling du mandant.
  • Il vous est difficile de formuler des objectifs intermédiaires appropriés pour les séances de pointage.

Si vous procédez à une structuration temporelle de votre programme ou de votre projet et fixez des pointages réguliers pour une réflexion et pour le pilotage de l’intervention, vous pourrez réagir de manière appropriée à un « changement de situation » et corriger à temps des développements non souhaités. Si vous reflétez les progrès du programme ou du projet lors de séances de pointage, vous pourrez, dans l’intervalle, vous concentrer sur la réalisation des mesures mises en œuvre.

Avec une planification et une réalisation soigneuses de la première étape, une intervention a plus de chances de succès.

Grâce aux séances de pointage, vous pouvez procéder à une planification plus souple et effectuer un pilotage actif et régulier des processus en cours. Cette manière de faire favorise aussi la créativité et l’innovation. Une réflexion régulière sur la collaboration peut vous aider à identifier à temps des potentiels de conflits dans l’équipe et à trouver des solutions constructives.

Pour la phase d’implémentation du projet, fixez des séances de pointage à intervalles réguliers. Formulez des objectifs vérifiables pour chaque mesure déterminante pour la séance de pointage prévue.

Pour l’ordre du jour de vos séances de pointage, prenez en compte les aspects suivants :

  • Reflétez l’étape qui vient de s‘achever.
  • Planifiez en détail la prochaine étape (objectifs intermédiaires).
  • Discutez les processus internes à votre programme ou votre projet ainsi que les modifications de conditions intervenues à l’extérieur.
  • Abordez l’ambiance de travail et celle qui règne dans l’équipe.
  • Au besoin, faites appel à d’autres spécialistes.
  • Rédigez un court rapport sur la séance de pointage.
  • Le projet est-il divisé en étapes (des séances de pointages sont-elles fixées pour l’évaluation des étapes) ?
  • Les objectifs intermédiaires sont-ils axés sur les effets et vérifiables ?
  • Des séances de pointage sont-elles planifiées avec soin et organisées régulièrement ?
  • Des séances de pointage sont-elles utilisées comme instrument pour le pilotage du projet ?
  • Lors des séances de pointage, un temps suffisant est-il accordé à la réflexion sur les processus du fonctionnement de l’équipe ?
Dernière modification: mercredi 21 décembre 2011 17:17